Upperville Horse Show

Several members of the Club participated in the Carriage Classic at the 160th anniversary of the Upperville Colt and Horse Show on June 9, 2013.  In all there were about 30 entrants, with former PDC President Maryalice Larkin-Matheson serving as judge.  In addition to the “pleasure” and “reinsmanship” classes for  singles and pairs of ponies and horses, there were cones classes for all.  The final class, a “Concours d’Elegance” took place in the very stylish and challenging Grand Prix Jumper ring in front of thousands of spectators.

The Club was pleased once again to have a member take the trophy in this prestigious class.  Carl Cox won it with his 4 in Hand of Black Crossbreds put to a Fenix Roof Seat Break.  Sounding the horn for him was Bobby Dryer.  Mary Munster was the last PDC member to win this coveted trophy when she competed with her elegant pair of Friesian mares.

Competition was stiff, with entrants coming from various places in Northern Virginia and Maryland.  We are pleased to announce that Mary Munster took first in the pleasure driving class, and second in  reinsmanship with the same pair.  Other PDC members:  Lisa Anderson, Pat McCann, Barbara Wolf, and Wayne Porter each captured ribbons in several classes, while Carl Cox took second in cones with his team.

A very special feature of the Carriage Classic is the hospitality tent that is so graciously provided by members of the Club.  Special thanks go out to Vicki Baturay, Marci Bade, Adrianne Brooks, Ben Cox, Elizabeth Cummings-Cox, Anne Watkins, Tom Wolf, and  Brenda Milne (who although not a member of the Club, contributes generously) for their tireless work as hosts/hostesses.  The food and drink was prepared and donated by these and  numerous other Club members.

The cones competition was made possible by another very special group of volunteers.   Thank you, Club member Sam Davis, for your hard work in ensuring that wheel measurements were properly done.  Sincere thanks also go to Babs Timmerman (scribe), Michel Denny (time keeper/cones), Tom Wolf (cones), Linda Robeson (cones), Owen Snyder (cones).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s